Okay, I'm a very big noob when it comes to gear ... I currently own a Epiphone Les Paul Junior (actually love this) and a Line 6 Spider III, so I am thinking about buying a new amp. Okay, first of all ... I play mostly punk, with some clean stuff and a bit of metal (Metallica kind of stuff). Secondly, I want a half-stack... yes, I know that I could probably get a better deal with a combo, but to be honest, I very much would rather have a half-stack than a combo.

I play about 5 - 10 gigs a month and I would like a LOUD amp as my rhythm guitarist and drummer are hard to compete with (rhythm guitarist uses a Marshall MG100HDFX half-stack).

I have 600 pounds, about 900 dollars I believe, I cannot buy used as my parents are anti-ebay and I live nowhere near a guitar shop, I will be purchasing off of something like www.gak.co.uk or something similar.

Influences: HIM, Sex Pistols, Green Day, The Red Hot Chili Peppers, Ramones, Metallica, Kill Hannah, Sum 41, Misfits, NOFX etc.

Thanks in advance

EDIT: Also, the tone does not have to be amazing; I love the tone that I can get out of my Spider, I think it's amazing how I can get it to sound, but others dislike Spiders ... so if they are really that bad and I think they're half-decent ... my tone on this new amp does not have to be loads better, but a bit in preferance XD
Last edited by SkinnyVampire at Jan 19, 2009,
try to convince your parents that used is fine, because an Engl thunder 50 would be perfect.
Also check out the Randall rg50tc and Bugera's
I think you should get yourself to a guitar store and try a nice amp. Really, it will give you a different outlook on your tone. If you still like it then good for you... Spiders are ok at best.

To compete with your other guitarist you won't need a halfstack... but if you want to spend the extra cash for something that's a bit too large, then fine. 30 or 50 watts tube will completely drown him out, and all that takes is a 212 combo or a head and 212 cab.