Page 1 of 3
Yes, A Philosophy discussion thread. Now, to those who say "Pfft, WHAT? As if, it's common sense that the world isn't virtual! It's obvious!" I say: Common sense has failed us many, many times. Like when humans thought the world is flat. So do not push common sense into this thread. How do you know you're not a brain in a vat connected to a super computer that allows you to feel as if this is all real? And this computer allows you to go through all the emotions and "feel", "hear" and "see" things? Discussion please. I have been extremely curious to find out what others think. By the way, I got this idea from "The Philosophy Files" book I studied at school. So yeah, discuss?
Your light bulb knows everything you do in your room.
It feels so much more real when I dream. How do I know my senses aren't lying to me?
Quote by Underjoggle
The hambucker is the revolutionary new pickup that removes unwanted ham from your output signal, and collects it on a croissant with melted cheese.

Quote by Eddie4President
Shoop unto others what you would have shooped unto you.
I don't, but in the immortal words of George Orwell, "Reality is only what is perceived within the skull"

therefore, it doesn't matter whether it is or not, and you shouldn't worry about it

live, don't worry about whether you're living or not, just leave

why wake from the matrix? the matrix is perfectly fine
Top 15:
Neutral Milk Hotel
Smashing Pumpkins
Placebo
Elliott Smith
Devendra Banhart
Pavement
Anberlin
Eve 6
The Clash
Imogen Heap
Ingrid Michaelson
Bayside
Minus The Bear
The Replacements
Bright Eyes/Conor Oberst
Quote by atthedrive-thru
here's a better question, what happens when you die?

One topic at a time :P
Quote by Erik_Aero
I honestly don't care. It wouldn't change my life if it were.

+1 for sensible people.
Dissonance is Bliss

Signal Chain:
Carvin CT-4
Ibanez TS-9
Carvin Quad-X
TC Electronics G-Major
Mesa/Boogie 2:90
Ear Candy BuzzBomb

Member #4 of the Carvin Club