Page 1 of 2
Hey guys...

I'm new to this site, what a fantastic site this is!

I've been playing an acoustic guitar for a couple of months now, and I've decided to buy myself an electric guitar, and an amp of course...

My budget is about $400 total. I was thinking $300 for the guitar and $100 for an amp?

I would like a versatile guitar/amp able to play a great variety of styles like classic rock (guns n' roses /ACDC), good "clean" like style. Don't know what you call it?
Maybe also a bit heavy...

I've looked at the Vypyr 15 and roland micro cube or cube 15x.

As for guitars I've looked at the Squier Affinity Fat Strat and the Yamaha Pacifica 112.

I know these guitars are somewhat under my guitar budget, I would like some feedback and/or suggestions for a good startup rig which fits my style and budget...

Thanks a lot

EDIT: New guitar budget - $300
Last edited by Dichael1234 at Jan 22, 2009,
amps: I'd personally go for the Cube, but I'm biased since I own one XD

guitar wise (of those two) I'd go with the Yamaha, one of my mates has it and it's actually quite good

also, I think you ment the yamaha pacifica 112... ?
Quote by Demonikk
'Practice amp' = amp you practice with? In my case, Peavey 6505+ and 4x12
I don't do things small

Except children.
I don't know for the guitar, but for the amp, go for the micro cube
you can bring them everywhere and they sound perfect for clean or more rock-oriented distortion
Quote by RazorTheAwesome
Lol at Bender

Quote by So-Cal

Quote by theguitarist

I got to warn you for spam though...

Quote by Shredoftheday
Nicely put good sir

I witnessed Night Of The Pear 2
First off, welcome to UG!

Well, don't take too much notice of the Spider III and Marshall MG hate, the amps are underrated, but in honesty, there is better for your money, so I wouldn't advise getting one, although my MG is kicking out quite a nice tone at the moment (after Three years of fiddling and mixing/matching)