Hey guys I'm a noob to the guitar and to UG.com. Just a quick question, what key is the chord progression Am, C, E, Dm in? I found a backing track with this and it sounds intriguing and I'd like to solo over this. Any help, and brief explanation or reference is appreciated. Thanks
I dont think it would be A minor since the E wouldnt fit the E would have to be E minor.
Last edited by ehlert99 at Jan 20, 2009,
Quote by ehlert99
I dont think it would be A minor since the E wouldnt fit the E would have to be E minor.

E major is more common then E minor. The seventh scale degree is usually raised in a minor key causing the V chord to become major. The G in the E minor chord becomes G# creating E major.
Quote by blueriver
E major is more common then E minor. The seventh scale degree is usually raised in a minor key causing the V chord to become major. The G in the E minor chord becomes G# creating E major.

Doesn't the key of A minor having a lowered 7th change it to G?
I'm not sure what you mean. If you lowered the seventh scale degree in A minor you would have a diminished seventh (Gb). Or are you asking about lowering it back to G from G#?
Quote by blueriver
The seventh scale degree is usually raised in a minor key causing the V chord to become major.

That's what I was talking about. The seventh is lowered, not raised. It should be Eminor, not major.
It's quite common to raise the 7th over chord V. Use the A harmonic minor over the E chord, and the A Aeolian over the others.
Quote by Ninjamonkey767
That's what I was talking about. The seventh is lowered, not raised. It should be Eminor, not major.

I think I see what you meant. A minor scale consists of the Tonic (A) major second(B) minor third(C) perfect fourth (D) Perfect fifth(E) Minor Sixth(F) and minor seventh(G).