hey dudes, i bought a guitar on friday with a floyd, it's a dean razorback.
its my first time buying a guitar with a floyd, and he sold me it in drop d and i want to tune to standard e. he did sort of show me how to do it, but i was too busy drooling all over the guitar to listen

so far, i have put the fine tuners down to the middle setting, and i know that i now have to loosen the locking nuts and tune the strings like 6th, 1st, 5th, 2nd, 4th, 3rd and repeat this about 4 times till its about right.

what the hell do i do next? he said something about the trem springs and some screws in the back, but i cant remember.
Quote by stringsquealer
dude you have a razorback explosion?!?!
im so jealous

Quote by Kyle.E
Munky has a reason. A reason to live. *applauds*

you kind of have to do a balancing act- retune to drop D, but also keep an eye on the angle of the trem above the body (it should be parallel). if it goes off parallel, either loosen or tighten the trem springs (using the screws in the back)- tightening will pull the trem closer to the body, loosening the opposite. bear in mind that touching the screws will also affect the tuning too (as i said, it's a balancing act).

tuning all the strings the way you mentioned is a good idea too, as when you change one string's tuning it can knock the others off a little too.
I'm an idiot and I accidentally clicked the "Remove all subscriptions" button. If it seems like I'm ignoring you, I'm not, I'm just no longer subscribed to the thread. If you quote me or do the @user thing at me, hopefully it'll notify me through my notifications and I'll get back to you.
Quote by K33nbl4d3
I'll have to put the Classic T models on my to-try list. Shame the finish options there are Anachronism Gold, Nuclear Waste and Aged Clown, because in principle the plaintop is right up my alley.

Quote by K33nbl4d3