Page 1 of 2
First off let me tell you that this is my first build. I have been cruising GB&C for quite some time, picking up information as I went along, but now after about 5 months of being on here, I feel I am ready to start my first guitar build. I finished reading Make Your Own Electric Guitar by Melvyn Hiscock about a month ago and it made me rethink some of my ideas. That book really helped me out a lot and I would recommend it. Because I have a fairly small background in this sort of thing and limited money, this build will probably take a long time to get finished, I would guess into the spring if not later.

Here is what I'm going for:

RR24 Style Guitar
2 piece alder body
One piece set flame maple neck
24 fret ebony fretboard
Non-beveled top
25.5" Scale
Tune o matic bridge with either a flying V tail piece or ferrules (string through body)
13 degree headstock angle with scarf joint
Custom headstock shape
Body, neck and headstock painted solid black
2 Humbuckers
2 Volumes
3 way blade selector
Zero degree neck angle
Dot inlays
Jumbo fretwire
Last edited by necroscience13 at Jan 21, 2009,
It's lookin' grand and everything, but, it's nothing like an RR24!
Well I guess it technically is, being a 24 fret RR, but the RR24 is Jacksons answer the ESP's alexi sig, one pickup, floyd rose, pinstriped paint etc etc.

Anyway, good luck, I'll await more pics
Can't wait to see this finished! Where are you getting the parts from? Just as a heads up, if you were gonna get the 'board from Craft Supplies, they won't have ebony for a few months.
Quote by minibrowny
Can't wait to see this finished! Where are you getting the parts from? Just as a heads up, if you were gonna get the 'board from Craft Supplies, they won't have ebony for a few months.
I'm getting my parts from a variety of places. Stew Mac, Guitar Fetish and Dragonfire Guitars are going to be my main spots.
This should turn out pretty nice. Sweet neck blank by the way.
Quote by Dr. House