Poll: Most Over-Rated Lead Guitarist?
Poll Options
View poll results: Most Over-Rated Lead Guitarist?
Angus Young
4 22%
Eddie Van Halen
5 28%
Slash
5 28%
You're Smokin' Dope! These three are for real!
4 22%
Voters: 18.
I have been playing guitar for around 6 years now, and I'd consider myself "talented." I have taken up teaching young people how to play the guitar(I'm in High School by the way, not a creep-o old pedo) to pick up some extra cash and find my "heir apparent" in this community . I have a 7-year-old student who can play all open chords, and some open chord progressions with a top-speed of 198 BPM on a metronome(we're talking E-A-G, etc.). He's only been with me weekly for a month, and he claims to have never picked up a guitar.

Here's the problem: I have another student who's 10. He has been with me for 3-4 months now, and he is still struggling to play open chords(E, A, D, G, C, F). He can't even hold his guitar right(he constantly lays it down on his lap and plays it like a steel guitar...). I nag him about practicing, but I don't know if the message is going through. I have hit a brick wall with lesson planning, as I am now obviously repeating lessons over and over again("Here's the G chord"). I dread teaching this student, because I just don't think he has the will, or even the potential if he is really trying. His mom complains because she claims that he doesn't have any solid things to practice, when I have given him numerous chord diagrams and chord progressions to play. What should I do? Please help!
Give him songs with a couple of chords in, or teach him power chords so at least you can get him playing some tunes - he might be more inclined to practice if he can play something a bit more fun. Is he learning cos he wants to, or cos he thinks his parents want him to? If its the latter you've got no chance