I've been doing this for over 6 years to record on my computer. One thing I've always wondered but never quite knew was, what would make the speakers crackle? i.e. the volume can still be down, but depending on my settings on a multi-effects pedal, you can still hear some distortion from the speakers. Would this have to do with the EQ settings/treble/gain/presence levels?
what is your gear???
PSN USERNAME: MetuulGuitarist7
STEAM:MetuulGuitarist7
Origin:MetuulGuitarist7
feel free to add me
The pedal is a Boss GT-6 and the guitar's a bc rich warlock NJ. Sometimes I'll play a bass through it too, it's a basic fender strat, or whatever the low level fender bass is. The speakers are....Creative 5700 5.1 I believe?
What sound card/interface do you have?

Play a Cort ?

Play with V-Picks ?

Every minute is to be Grasped........................................................................Time waits for nobody.

It could be doing that because you simply have the level set too high on the GT-6, a lot of the time, that is the problem when people use that kind of setup.
Audigy 2 with the LiveDrive (cd-rom bay). The livedrive screwed up though so now I just pluf into the mic jack in the card itself
Quote by GNRjungle87
It could be doing that because you simply have the level set too high on the GT-6, a lot of the time, that is the problem when people use that kind of setup.

Well, then there's the problem of not having enough sound when you're recording...
Try turning up the volume in the sound card control panel or on the windows mixer?

It's annoying when theres several volume controls to check
A metal band?
Gear:
A Guitar with an LFR > Korg Pitchblack > Behringer EQ > Hardwire CM-2 Overdrive Boss SD-1 > Hardwire CR-7 Chorus>
Orange Tiny Terror >
LzR Engineering 212 cab

My other amp can run Crysis
Quote by GWARslave
Audigy 2 with the LiveDrive (cd-rom bay). The livedrive screwed up though so now I just pluf into the mic jack in the card itself