Help! I'm a computer noob, I have acquired a pc, but somehow during delivery the cpu fan has come off from the chip! I stuck it back on with the clips, hardly any grease left on the underside. So I've clipped it in and when I fire up the system it gets to the ms dos screen, goes to load the processor and just totally cuts out, anyone knw what I can do?
Quote by enomushiki
I don't know what a CPU fan is. Guess I'm a bigger n00b.
It is a fan that goes on the CPU of your computer.
Go get something called thermal compound and find some instructions on how to use it. I think that is what your problem is but the wording of your question is somewhat vauge.
Quote by jackson001
Ironbodom, I hate you.

Quote by SeveralSpecies
damnit Ironbodom.

Quote by Sleaze Disease
Yes, someone "was ate jam" while they were playing.
Brilliant observation.

Save SURGE
I think so, is it that like bronze coloured thing on the bottom of the fan? Like the chip is fully visable with like a smidge of grease then on the underside of the fan there's a bronze "block" with a smidge of grease, I used those metal things either side of the fan to clip it in....
Quote by Ironbodom
Go get something called thermal compound and find some instructions on how to use it. I think that is what your problem is but the wording of your question is somewhat vauge.
I think this guy has it, you don't have enough thermal paste.
Quote by Mr.Maccy
I think so, is it that like bronze coloured thing on the bottom of the fan? Like the chip is fully visable with like a smidge of grease then on the underside of the fan there's a bronze "block" with a smidge of grease, I used those metal things either side of the fan to clip it in....

Is the actual CPU chip still attached to the motherboard?

Edit:
If it is then most likely you need thermal compound or your CPU is fried like that guy said.

If it is not then don't mess with it and take it to a professional (you don't want to break it or bend a pin trying to get it off)