Before I give a wall of information, I want to know the best way for me to get good enough to play with a band considering I lack music theory knowledge. Asides from "learning scales" how do I get comfortable enough to jam with a band

I'll try and give as much information as possible on how good I am.

When I was young I taught myself piano using a book, very briefly. Just how to play simple songs, chords and how to read music.
In year 6-7 I played the trumpet and got grade 3 by the end. Then gave up

Years later, after high school I started playing the guitar for fun as a hobby. As I was just playing for fun I didn't bother learning any theory, I just started playing songs I liked, learned the chords, practised more difficult songs that I liked.

So now that I want to play with a band, making music requires more of me. I need to be able to jam/improvise to songs.
I've just been using guitarcardio.com to learn/practise major scales, but knowing how to play a few scales doesn't really give me the ability to improvise.

So... what do I do?
get a bassist or another guitarist, jam with them first without a drummer, get some material down and find a drummer, worked for me
Butcher
i dont think learning how to improvise is possible, u just have to enjoy playing and try to get familiar with the fretboard as much as you can, oh, and play standing up alot if u wana play in a band, i found playing sitting down for like a year and a half hindered me when my buds and me started a band
the best thing to do is find some friends who arent complete assholes. and jam with them. learn about roots and stuff. the more you jam the better you will get. dont hold back.
Quote by GoWithTheFlow
the best thing to do is find some friends who arent complete assholes. and jam with them. learn about roots and stuff. the more you jam the better you will get. dont hold back.

This is very hard...

Find some one who is at ur level...or around it, you don't need to be the best player to have a band