So i've for a while tryed to create lead stuff by sticking in scales, and lately i've tried just messin around, dont care about what scale, playing lead stuff. And i like it more. Is there anything wrong with just playing what sounds good? or should you always play out of sclaes like minor pentatonic and stuff? Im a theory noob. dont bash haha
Well if it sounds good then its fine. The whole point of using scales as a base is so that you are able to make everything flow instead of just being a random collection of notes.
Quote by nathanlamb
Is there anything wrong with just playing what sounds good? or should you always play out of sclaes like minor pentatonic and stuff?

No, nothing wrong with it. But, OTOH, you'll probably be always just "messing
around" and that's where you'll stay.

You just don't know how to use scales yet. Using scales doesn't mean you HAVE
to use only scale notes. Not at all. Learn more about using them, acquire more
skill by practicing with them, or just mess around.
Quote by nathanlamb
So i've for a while tryed to create lead stuff by sticking in scales, and lately i've tried just messin around, dont care about what scale, playing lead stuff. And i like it more. Is there anything wrong with just playing what sounds good? or should you always play out of sclaes like minor pentatonic and stuff? Im a theory noob. dont bash haha

um well no matter what you in order to play in key and have sort of thought behind what yu play, you need scales. you dont need to play either one or another. you can mix them together if you want. the thing is, once you get to know music better, over time you begin to see it as less of scales and more of just music. but you should learn the "rules" before you break them in a sense.