So yeah, I have a strong feeling that I won't meet Berklee's standards for acceptance...can anyone help me out? Think I have a fighting chance? No shot in hell? I filmed myself just improvising for about 10 minutes with a loop machine...just going through my usual practice routines. Improv is fun!

I've been playing for about 4 years, self-taught...just wondering where I stand in the guitar world. Constructive criticism wanted.
Can you sight read?

know how to build chord up to 7ths/diminished/augmented and understand the concept of extensions?

Know about intervals understand them?

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[font="Palatino Linotype
Who's Andy Timmons??
Well, I know how all that stuff works, I'm just...not good at it. I understand and know all the concepts, I'm just not good at applying them in a relatively quick manner. As far as sight reading goes, I could tell you what each note is on both a bass and treble clef staff...but can't really translate it to guitar. Currently taking piano lessons to help work on that.
Quote by jtfletch11
Well, I know how all that stuff works, I'm just...not good at it. I understand and know all the concepts, I'm just not good at applying them in a relatively quick manner. As far as sight reading goes, I could tell you what each note is on both a bass and treble clef staff...but can't really translate it to guitar. Currently taking piano lessons to help work on that.

you definitely need that stuff.

There are a lot of people applying, and there are probably more people that can do that stuff in their sleep, then that there are spots available.

It's 1 of the most prestige music schools, and they don't want someone that just can play songs.

(most intelligent)

[font="Palatino Linotype
Who's Andy Timmons??
Last edited by xxdarrenxx at Jan 22, 2009,
I really enjoyed your improv thats for sure. What were the chords for the first part?