30 26%
video lessons
14 12%
urself
97 84%
other
8 7%
Voters: 115.
took lessons early on. 6 moths in gave up the lessons and slef taught. a year and a half in im much better and now plan on talking lessons for theory.
I took lessons for a while but I had to stop because money got really tight and now I'm self taught and much better
I took lessons for about 5 or 6 months from the guitarist in my church's praise band. Then I got too busy to practice and continue taking lessons, so I kind of stopped playing for a while. Over the summer I started to teach myself a little bit, and now I'm in a youth praise band at my church.

My only problem is that when I was taking lessons, I was learning to play rhythm guitar. I'm not too good at lead stuff. Maybe lessons from my local shop would help.
Quote by necrosis1193
As usual Natrone's mouth spouts general win.

Quote by Silverstein14
man, Natrone you're some kind of ninja I swear

Quote by gregs1020
plexi

i realize the longshot that is. little giant to humongous one.

Rest In Peace Stevie Ray
Quote by Serious Busines
The same guy who taught me to spell.

beat me to it
i enjoy head
UG, and Power tab, then i buckled down and used UGs lessons section to learn theory, then i had one of my friends who was in the orchestra teach me how to read treble cleff, then bass cleff (which i think is the top bar A and the bottom G). and for stuff like pinch harmonics i watched a video on youtube. the funniest part is it all spawned from me being too good at GH2, which the franchise as a whole helped me with picking and finger speed. so i don't know its a self taught from reading lessons up until i had to read music for jazz band, but most of my self teaching comes from UG. I guess that i am literally a guitarist created by this website (thankfully i avoided the pit until i was close to finished learning the basics)
Quote by haha
every time I see your username I press F8 out of curiosity then I have to give myself a big ol' facepalm