Do bands (locally and mainstream) still smash their guitars and stuff? Or is that now considered uncool? Does anybody have a "destruction" part and the end of sets anymore? Just curious...

I know Nirvana used to do even back in 1988 waaay before they reached fame.
I seriously find it stupid to smash your equipment. It is expensive to smash a good guitar or bass or keyboard... or even the amps.
"Fly with me forever high
And with these wings
We'll set the world on fire
Fly with me through scorching skies
You and I - The lie of lies"

-Symphony X
I don't. I'm just a broke student
A hero of war, Yeah that's what I'll be

(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)..........(.)(.)
i would if i could afford it
No endeavour rivals science in its incremental progress towards a more complete understanding of the observable universe.
I don't even care about the cost of the smashing, the act itself is overdone and really kind of lame any more.
You're*
yeah you should probably only do it if it's still cool
███████████████████████████████████
Pete Townshend Of the who does it every now and then. smashes up an amazing Eric Clapton Strat :'(
=========

Nathnialm

====
I wouldn't even if I had the money to. I think it's a shameful practise :no
Agreed.

That said, I saw green day do a big instrument smash up at an Edgefest show around '98 or so. Some people thought it was cool, but it really is cliche, and a senseless waste of gear.

You want to do something outrageous and have nothing better to do with a guitar than smash it? Find the youngest person in the audience (or the oldest, or the prettiest girl or whoever..... but extra awesomeness points if there is a kid in the audience) you can and just hand it to him... "here... yours."

CT
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com