For my GCSE project I am thinking of making an electric guitar. I would be allowed to have all of the pickups and bridge and other components ready bought but I would have to shape the body, head and neck myself and put it all together. For those of you in the US I would be 15/16 whilst making it and I wouldn't have unlimited tools at school. Do you think it would be possible?
Thanks in advance

EDIT:I have limited woodwork experience and absolutely no guitar building experience. The teacher I would be working with has no guitar making experience but is very good with woodwork.
Gear
Basses
Squier Vintage Modified Precision Bass in Olympic White

Guitars
Squier Stratocaster Showmaster NLT HSS
Stagg Electro Acoustic

Amps
Carlsbro Cobra Bass 90W
Line 6 Spider III 15W
Squier SA-10

Last edited by Rugby Rocker at Jan 24, 2009,
I'd say go for it. As long as you're committed enough to see it through.

Your teacher should be able to help you with any troubles you come across.
Quote by Invader Jim
A post with that many big words just HAS to be right.

Wii FC: 8115 1176 4951 3028
I'm building one for my gcse. My teacher provides great ideas that I haven't considered, and it isn't too difficult if you're prepared to put a lot of effort it.
Also what problems would i probably run into? Such as doing the fretboard and getting the neck straight.
Gear
Basses

Guitars
Stagg Electro Acoustic

Amps
Carlsbro Cobra Bass 90W
Line 6 Spider III 15W
Squier SA-10

neck straight, fretboard slotting, fretboard being straight, nut spacing, fret leveling, nut spacing, painting. That's about it :-D
It depends. Do you have access to a router? I getting on fine without one, but you may struggle to do the neck pocket (assuming it's a bolt on), if you aren't good with a drill and a chisel. And routing for the truss rod may be equally challenging without a router...