I have been playing guitar for about a year now, im self taught but im better then most people who have been playing twice as long as i have. The only thing is i basically don't know anything,such as names of scales,chords, etc. Can anyone help me, or at least tell me where to get a good start?
i agree cuz ive only been playing six months and thats how i feel. so yea i joined a band so id go with wat DerekC99 said
Dude, its pretty simple. Read some stuff on scales and chords. I've been playing for a little over a year and I've been nailing some of the basics by myself. I plan on taking some lessons later on but not until I hit a roadblock to where I can't learn anything by myself.

There's so many different formats via UG, DVD's and hell even YouTube to learn some stuff. And starting a band would be a huge boost to. Putting your own stuff together will help you learn also.

So I suggest pick up an instructional DVD and book before you go dropping some coin on lessons. Unless someone you know does it for free.
Just search stuff up on the Internet. Im in the same boat, but there is some great stuff on UG and the internet, especially the Ultimate guide to guitar by Zeguitarist. THat helped allot. Just use Google. But I also no that it can get confusing, so if you have any kind of music teacher at your school such as a band directior, choir directior, or anyone who plays an instument like piano or something, just ask them. If they truly do have a love for music they would take the time to tell you, and music theory is pretty much the same for bost instuments, even vocals. Whatever you do, dont give up, and dont let people put you down because your self taught.
Quote by buttermilkxxx
dont let people put you down because your self taught.

Couldn't agree anymore than that. I've met some people who thought that of me and never heard me play. I learned how to play Crazy Train, front to back including the solo by my damn self and I play it clean.