Hi everyone,
I'm a newb to the forum and to guitar. Play the piano and have recently caught a burning desire to learn guitar as well. Done a lot of research and have narrowed it down and would love some more expert opinions if you don't mind...

Ok, budget. Depends on how loose I'm feeling when you ask me (bad, I know) but to be sensible, since it's my first guitar and money IS an object, I'm going to cap it at $1000 (yeah, high, but I'm going places (LOL) - I intend to anyway - so I do NOT want to buy a throw away...gotta sound respectable because realistically it'll be a year before I can upgrade). That said, I have considered a range (some well above that cap), and here's where I'm at:

Martin Custom D
Martin D-16R
Martin HD-28V (ok, too expensive, but if I really want to break the bank)
Guild GAD-50 (with Elixer strings...from what I've heard, makes HUGE difference)

Can you a) tell me which of these you'd get and/or b) let me know if there are others I should consider?

Much appreciated...
There are many brands out tehre other that Big names that you can benefit from
BlueRidge are my favorite acoustics and sounds damn good for their price, and it all depends on the players feel and what sound they are looking for and i know you dont want to start on a throw away but honestly its better to start on a cheaper guitar and learn, then you realize what kind of tone your getting and what tone you want, because believe me once you play for a year or two your idea of tone will change ALOT just browse and remember you dont have to make decisions abruptly or anything.
LIFE IS TOO SHORT NOT TO LET YOUR MIND SPREAD WINGS AND TAKE FLIGHT

Quote by KeepOnRotting
+Infinity. This dude knows good metal.
i personally don't like the sound of martins all that much. a little to soft for my taste. takamines are good guitars to look at
Quote by LaGrange
There are many brands out tehre other that Big names that you can benefit from