Umm hi, I'm new here.

Just a lil' background, I've been playing guitar for 2-3 years now on and off so I would consider myself a novice or more advanced than that. Up till a few days ago I was still strumming a classical guitar. Yes. A classical. Please don't ask why...

Anyway last week the guitar started sounding weird. I had some cash so I decided to get a new one, an acoustic to be exact. Well I tried a few guitars around a few shops, mainly a Yamaha FG700S, F310 (yes, worlds apart I know), a Takamine D51SC, D50 and D21.

The Yamahas sounded really bad to me and I just found out how useless some sales people can be. The Dreadnought D50 sounded really nice but the sales people told me it was a solid top but the inside of the soundhole was painted black so I think it wasn't. According to the website, it's a laminate. So I took the D51SC (solid top and cutaway). It's a NEX body (mini jumbo) with a solid spruce top, mahogany sides and back, rosewood fretboard and some other stuff. It's in good condition and I changed the strings from PB D'Addarios to PB Martin SPs.

Now the problem is, the guitar sounds seriously thin or 'tinny'. It's loud and bright but just missing the depth. The bass sustain is longer than the treble but the treble is super loud. I brought it to a shop and they adjusted the truss rod and that helped but the sound is still generally the same. The gauge increased from 11 to 12 and that also helped but not a lot.

To cut things short, is there anyway to deepen or 'fatten' the sound? Even the crappy 10 year old laminate plastic fretboard acoustic guitar sounds better than this. Will the sound change with age as it's a solid top? Any recommended strings? No returning the guitar please. The shop doesn't allow it.

EDIT :

The guitar sounded good in the shop and I tuned it myself using standard tuning. This is really frustrating because it's an almost $300 guitar... I don't live in the US btw. Just converting currencies.