I'm trying to create some content for a website I'm putting together that I want to
use as a source for marketing myself as a guitar teacher. Some of this content I
want to be videos. I'm no audio engineer, but I'm pretty decent working with audio
mp3's -- at least I'm happy with the quality. I've been using Alberton Live which
I'm very happy with. But, shooting videos, especially with good audio, I know
nothing about.

Now, I'm trying to get good audio in some videos. Here's a couple of examples I've
made up on YouTube as my first attempts:

This one is just me playing an improvisation over a simple track.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2qZ7O-3yUOA

This one I was planning to have as a small part of a much longer lesson video on
"Sweeping all over the neck: What shapes do I sweep?"
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qPMBq0zk9rU

I don't know if I'm being overly-critical, but I'm just not happy with the audio.

In these 2 takes I used a Pandora 5XD. I looped a drum track and a couple of
bars of phrase track in the Pandora and did a direct line-in recording of the audio
to a Mac Powerbook running iMovie Video Capture (using the Powerbook builtin
camera).

Ideally I'd like to use Alberton Live to create the backing and do the playback and
recording while I'm filming. That way I'll have access to all the individual tracks.
But then I'll have to export the audio, paste it into iMovie, synch up the audio with
the video and export the final iMovie. That just seems like a tedious pipeline when
doing a lot of cuts and retakes. So, it becomes not so ideal after all because I'd
really like just get the good audio directly with the video as I'm recording the video.

I'm just curious what others might use. Probably I just need to play around with
this more. I have some other options like a Digitech GNX4 (on board 8-track) and
a Zoom 8 Track HD Recorder. I could try miking I suppose, but I think it's even