My 13 year old son just got a bass. Right now it's just a piece of wood to him.

What are the first and most important thing(s) to get him doing?

He loves the idea of playing and is eager to learn. I'm a 20 year guitarist, but don't know a thing about playing the bass.

Tips are very welcome. Thanks!
well the first thing to learn is most of the notes in the first position, and then get him to play root notes of the chords you play with him. Then introduce some full songs with simple basslines in.

He should also learn how to pluck the strings with both a plectrum and his fingers. as you are a guitar player yourself it will probably be easier to teach him pick-playing first.

x
Fender Geddy Lee Jazz
Warwick Corvette $$
Rockbass Streamer Fretless
Hartke HA5000
SWR Triad

Quote by Victory2134
I happen to enjoy every mankiss from shinhoman.
Quote by shinhoman
well the first thing to learn is most of the notes in the first position, and then get him to play root notes of the chords you play with him. Then introduce some full songs with simple basslines in.

He should also learn how to pluck the strings with both a plectrum and his fingers. as you are a guitar player yourself it will probably be easier to teach him pick-playing first.

x

good advice
I would teach him the notes of every fret, and some theory to go along with it.. then give a dose of funk and unleash that beast on the bass
Just curious what bass did he choose as his first bass?
Life's A Garden Digg It
-Joe Dirt
he is part of the rhythm section. he may actually solo, but it is highly preferable that he does it in a much more rhythmic fashion. this is also why many virtuosic bass players are solo, it is much easier to solo when you choose your own time signature and note emphasis.