So I just started playing Acoustic and I'm doin Ok learning all the chords and then when I go to play the songs I find that most of them need you to switch between from a CMajor to a Gmajor very fast. I'm finding it incredibly hard to do this is there any trick behind this or is it just a lot of practice?
Defintly lots of practice.

Try playing them back to back slowly. Make sure they're cleanly played with no muted strings. Soon enough you'll get it.

Chord switching is hard at first, but once you get good at it, the rest of the chords will follow.
Keep practicing and you will eventually get it. You could also try barre chords as both C and G are third fret chords.
"Some scientists claim that hydrogen, because it is so plentiful, is the basic building block of the universe. I dispute that. I say there is more stupidity than hydrogen, and that is the basic building block of the universe." -Frank Zappa
which way are you doing it?
are you doing:

X32010 to 320033?

cos you could easily do:

X32033 to 320033

OR

X35533 to 355433

Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
You are a bad man...I like you

Quote by gillehy
you sir should be knighted

Quote by Sleaze Disease

It's so true.

I

MUSIC!!!
You could try play C like this 0320xx and G like this 320xxx. I think that's easier way to play this chords
well you should be using your little finger on the top E for the g chord , that way you only have to move your ring finger and middle finger up a string while changing form C to G... it also means you can make it G7 with the spare index finger
My Gear

Fender Deluxe Players Stratocaster
Marshall DSL 50 with 1960A
Quote by dantheman558
which way are you doing it?
are you doing:

X32010 to 320033?

cos you could easily do:

X32033 to 320033

OR

X35533 to 355433

He/she could, but a third of those aren't the correct chords.
Quote by Zaphod_Beeblebr
Theory is descriptive, not prescriptive.

Quote by MiKe Hendryckz
theory states 1+1=2 sometimes in music 1+1=3.