hey all. im a self-taught guitarist for about 1 n a half years, and mostly i just jam with my homies and ****. ive been jamming to zephyr song- by the red hot chili peppers, and ive come to notice that while the song is in Am pentatonic, it changes key throughout the song. i tried playing it in different locations, and i found that Bm pentatonic works as well when the change comes on (listen to the song, you'll know what i mean), as well as D. am i applying modal transitions? cuz i dunno what im doing when it comes to music theory, i tend to mostly rely on my ear
Last edited by shanethestoner at Jan 26, 2009,
the key of the song changes in the chorus, which is why your different scales work with it
and also in the interlude and such
nick_b is currently obsessed with:
Pokemon
Pinch Harmonics
12/8 timing
7/8 timing
Lamb of God
Rise Against
Regina Spektor
Dream Theater
and many others...
damn it, i thought i was on to something hahah. but yeah that makes sense i was kinda aware of that, but i was hoping for different hahah
Not too familiar with the song, but I'll chuck it on YT.

Yup, the verse is in Am while the chorus is in D. The D major pentatonic has the same notes as the B minor petatonic, which is why it sounds right. You're not actually playing the B minor pentatonic though, you're playing the D major pentatonic.

If you want something else to play around with, you can also use the pentatonic of whatever chord you are over at the time. You'd use this more for little licks in between chords rather than for a solo (where you want some continuity in your playing). For instance on the G chord of the verse you could play something like:

e|----------------
B|---3-3----------
G|---4-2h4p2---2~-
D|---5-------5----
A|----------------
E|-3--------------

You're actually still playing the A natural minor scale, but you're restricting yourself to those notes more appropriate for the chord you're over.