I've been playing for a couple months now (active = around 3 months; but I've been learning for almost one year now, I just didn't really get in to it until around 3 months ago)...
I don't know what to do.

I normally practice the Minor Pentatonic scale in different patterns, using hammer-ons and pull-offs, and in sets of three, like a video I got tells me. I'm doing this to try and pick up speed. I also practice it normally.
But I don't really know the use for knowing a scale, I just know the patterns.
I was told to learn the Major scale, that it's used in more recent rock music.

I can play a couple of older songs but I don't like songs that are just changing from one basic chord to the other in a pattern, I feel like they get boring. I like to play songs that move around a bit more and are fun (like "I believe in a thing called love" - The Darkness; although I'm still unable to play some parts).
The fastest I can play is around the speed of the intro rifts of this Spanish metal song: "Alas de Fuego" - Tierra Santa (youtube it). However, I'm still working out the solo.

I switch between alt. picking and economy picking sometimes, using whichever is more convenient for me. (I do it without really thinking about it sometimes.) I also learned how to do pinch harmonics recently.

So, I'd really like suggestions as to what I should do and learn.
When playing those really rhythmic songs I tend to get a bit lost as well (even in some simple punk songs, I've found that I should make it sound as close as possible to the actual song, but not be a perfectionist ), unless it's a rhythm I can clearly make out in the music.

P.S. : When I went to buy a new amp (Roland Micro Cube), the man who sold it to me gave me the numbers of two luthiers in Puerto Rico, and told me I should go get a tune-up. I think the truss rod has to be adjusted, and a guy I know online told me that he [the luthier] would likely fix the intonation and action.