OK for the past 6 months I have been reviewing my technique. I started playing classical guitar and have tried to move over as many technique from that too my steel string & electric playing. Mainly keeping my thumb in the middle of the neck and keeping my fingers curled when they fret and stuff like that. The improvement has been amazing and I can't believe how I use to play. But my intrest now has moved back to the steel string acoustic and with that I like to use plectrum which obviously the strict classical guides don't provide any instruction on. So far what I do is I keep my wrist planted near the bridge and make sure that the plectrum at right angles to the string. My question mainly comes with my wrist. Should I stop planting my wrist and keep it floating? Do people play fast like that? If not is there a specific place I should keep planted?

I'm not looking for the standard do whatever is comfortable or whatever sounds good answer. I want the if you do it this way you'll never have any trouble answer.
Ben Pazolli
-----------------------
Epiphone Dot Studio
VOX Valvetronix VD-30AD
VOX V847 WAH-WAH Pedal
Boss Loop Station RC-2
-----------------------
"The nicest guy you'll ever f............ind"
your question sort of counteracts its self with the last sentance.

truth is, there is no 100% correct way.

simply, dont think about it, and play. THAT is the correct positioning for you.

then go into detail, ie. are you tensing any muscles when you play (which you shouldnt), you should play all freely etc.

if you do not tense, with practice, this "technique" will be yours, and will be limitless in terms of speed, and endurance (assuming you practice)

- you shouldnt be thinking about pick degrees to strings, as that comes down to tone, paul gilbert runs his pick almost parallel, and gives him his unique sound. (also note, gilbert is one of the worlds cleanest/quickest shredders.)