Hi,

I've been writing songs for a few months, nothing remotely professional I just consider it a hobby. One comment I received recently was that my songs seem to "mock the listener". I'm not sure exactly what that means, but my guess is that at times my lyrics become condescending or esoteric. I try to write things that haven't been done a million times before... avoiding obvious rhymes and rhyme schemes... I guess this can lead to lyrics that are somehow excessively intelligent...?

Anyways, I'm working on a song right now and was just looking for maybe some outside ideas/help and maybe try to get something that doesn't fall into this digression of being an insult to the audience/listener.

I came up with the following stanza and some chords that work with it and am trying to move from this particular phrasing into a full song:

Quiet on the set
I'm about to read my lines
Could you turn the lights down low?
To shade my shady eyes

A chaos weapon I can't stop
but stopping me to breathe
Pretending comes so easily
For celebrities like me

As a final verse I have a tentatively modified stanza of:

Trouble on the set
I forgot my lines
Could you bring the house lights up
To save my straining eyes

A chaos weapon I can't stop
but stopping me to breathe
make believe oh make believe
in fantasies like me

And for a chorus (or bridge, havent decided) with another set of chords:

I don't wanna think about
authenticity
And I don't want the facts of
reality.

I don't give a damn about
reciprocity
And I don't give a damn about
You and me.