Hello,

I have been looking at some wiring diagrams for EMG pick-ups.
So i am now thinking about changing the pick-ups in my Epiphone LP.
But i am a newbie when it comes to soldering and wire diagrams, so i have a few questions before i even start considering changing the pick-ups myself (The local shop charges 110 dollars for changing them )

- Does EMG Pick-ups come with new pots, or is it standard to use the ones you already have one guitar?

- What is the description of a "hot" wire?

- When a wire goes to ground is ground then the back of a pot, or should I solder it to another part?

- Does each of the 3 solder point on a pot have a specific connection or are they all 3 connected?

- Do you just connect the bare wire directly to the ground in the guitar?

- and last question; do you need to be an electromechanic to be able to do this?

Hope you understood my questions

Thanks
Quote by pedes89
Hello,

hi

Quote by pedes89
I have been looking at some wiring diagrams for EMG pick-ups.
So i am now thinking about changing the pick-ups in my Epiphone LP.
But i am a newbie when it comes to soldering and wire diagrams, so i have a few questions before i even start considering changing the pick-ups myself (The local shop charges 110 dollars for changing them )

Quote by pedes89
- Does EMG Pick-ups come with new pots, or is it standard to use the ones you already have one guitar?

you'll need new pots. your guitar probably has 500k pots, but you'll need 25k pots

Quote by pedes89
- What is the description of a "hot" wire?

if ground is a reference point of 0 volts. when you play, your pickups put out a small voltage signal. the hot wire is like the positive side of a battery, where ground is like the negative side. for the sake of example, the hot wire is the one the signal goes through.

Quote by pedes89
- When a wire goes to ground is ground then the back of a pot, or should I solder it to another part?