okay, first i just wanna say i pretty much suck so please dont flame me. okay secondly i need help with sweep picking ive looked up like youtube vids but could not seem to get it, so what are some sweep picking tips/ warm ups the you do.

okay hope i wasnt asking too much but, anyways any help would be very appreciated.

thanks,
ilikepie15
Last edited by ilikepie15 at Jan 30, 2009,
If you're not sure what alternate-picking is, you shouldnt really be attempting sweep picking, learn to alternate pick first. Sweep picking is a fairly advanced technique... (I'm no expert... just getting into sweep picking myself) so i'd like the answers to your question just as much as you do
Ball Custom Mark I

Korg Pitchblack > Dunlop Crybaby wah > mODDball audio Green Bastard > Marshall GV2 Guv'nor Plus > EHX Holy Stain > MXR Phase 90 > MXR Carbon Copy

Jet City JCA20h
Epiphone Valve Jr.
Blackstar HTV212
yeah, i realized it was the same thing as double picking i already have that down extremely well
Last edited by ilikepie15 at Jan 30, 2009,
LOL at the fact you want to learn how to sweep before alternate picking.

alternate picking is a HUGE ASS deal, and i HEAVILY suggest you learn how to do that first.

and by "learn how to do it" i mean "master it"

because it really is a foundation for all other techniques to be based on.

-- tips for sweeping (and guitar stuff in general, as there is no hidden secrets)

-start slow (i mean snail slow, un fun slow, 30 bpm slow)
--Use a metronome, or something to make sure you are in time
---dont tense any muscles at all when playing
----START SLOW

that more or less sums up guitar.

everything comes with practice. if you practice correctly, it will come quicker, and easier.

go to the lesson section of UG and suss it all out !!

good luck.
*Enter Sig Here*
SPEED IS A BYPRODUCT OF ACCURACY!