So I've been playing bass for 2 years or so (had my bass for longer though) and I find that its time to get a new bass. I really don't like the sound of my bass and that's mostly because of the strings but I really want to get a new bass altogether instead of just switching the strings. I have money to spare and I want a bass that will last me for a long while. I'm willing to spend 400-600 dollars for a new bass. I don't mind whether if its a P or a J-bass since I've heard it doesn't make THAT much of a difference (correct me if I'm wrong). I've had in mind the Fender Standard P-bass but I've heard mixed reviews about it. So anyway I'm hoping anyone can recommend me a good bass and mention why it is a good choice for me. Also I'm probably going to get new strings too for my new bass so....any suggestions for that as well?

Btw yes I know I've never posted before....I've been on the UG forums before but just never wanted to become a member since I am not a forum junkie... Oh and thanks in advance
I think you'd be happy with a Fender J or P, but they are a bit different. It is preference, but the necks are different. Jazz neck is fairly thin while the Precision is a bit thicker.

Also, what's your current bass?
Quote by Ez0ph
That was a different Feb08er that threatened to suck you off
I remember that

Sadly, I was the threatened.
Quote by Firenze

Let it be known that I concur with everything this gentleman says, ever.

www.myspace.com/tarsusmusic
Need more information.

What bass do you have now?
What music do you play?
What sort of amp/cab/combo do you have?
What sort of strings do you have on your bass, or are looking to put on your new one.
When do you want to buy this new bass (read: can you wait another month and buy something slightly better/more expensive or do you need it now)?