I've been playing bass for 6 or 7 years now and guitar for 5ish. I used to enjoy playing them, just because it was fun but since i've been doing music in school it's put me right off playing. I don't even want to play anymore, has anyone else gone through this?
ye... but stick at it... now i wanna play more than ever
dont let the talent go to waste!
Well, my uncle stop playing guitar because his wife didn't like it (he was playing guitar instead of being with her).
Sorryz for me bad engrish.

Quote by OnlyIbanez12
I just cut myself shaving my pubes...
Maybe you play only boring exercises? Just play the song you like and maybe try to compose new songs and join a band.
It happens to most of us I think. I go through periods where the only time i'll touch a bass is at practice. I get in big time ruts, and the only way for me to get out of them is to put it down for awhile. But it always comes back, I think jamming with people is the best remedy. Good luck.
to me it sounds like school had some thing to do with it ,you did not give your self room to take a breath ,you play at home then goto school and its in your face there all day yup it sounds like a very bad case of burn out to me. i think you need to kill the school part and go back to just playing at home ,you are trying to take to much in ,you need playing time and you need thinking time and give your self time to take a breath .i went threw the same thing i was playing some times 12 to 16 hours a day but i had to lern to take a time out when i did my playing started to get better.you have come to far to stop now just work out a plan is all you need and dont try to over kill your self .
Write down cool sounding riffs that you come up with and play them to friends and family or play with other musicians that's how I got over my boredom.
Gear: ltd EC-1000
Marshall MG 50DFX
ZOOM effect pedal