I'm sorry for the guys that are sick of threads like this but I really need help , I've tried everything.
I've been playing guitar for about 6 months now , and I have really developed technique in my fretting hand , I can do fast and clean legatto runs (potatoe goove thing by satriani) 4 finger tapping etc , but I've kinda neglected my picking.
I've gotten used to anchoring , and holding the pick with my thumb and index facing each other (not on the side of the index) and I just suck at picking.
I mess-up alot , when I do tremolo picking my pick gets stuck from time to time on certain notes , I practiced for a week trying to play the intro of Paul Gilbert's Technical Dificulties and can't pick it fast enough , and can't for the love of me get used to playing unanchored and holding the pick "corectly".

I really need advice from people that went trough similar things and fixed it , I wanna practice corectly so I can get my picking up to speed.

Also if someone can sugest some good economy picking exercises , apart from the one on UG by ZeG.

Thank you.
Well, when you say you can't pick without anchoring, you're giving yourself a load of b.s.

Plus, you say you've only been playing 6 months and your picking still sucks? I've been playing 5 years and my picking still sucks - Mostly because of changing my technique so much.

Stop anchoring
Start slow
Make sure you're not using too much of the pick
Just practice playing the technique that you want

Also, the way you hold the pick is fine. However, it might be easier to hold it at an angle.

Honestly, telling us that you "can't" do something is just an excuse. You'll never be fast AND clean with anchoring. You'll never be at a very low risk of injury with anchoring. Don't tell yourself "I can't do it the 'right' way, so anchoring will be fine for me." That is a terrible thought.
You can play fast and clean whilst anchoring...

The main reason to avoid it is injury.. (to The.new.guy)
Quote by Regression