Before i start, I would like to thank all the poeple who wrote tabs for this site, they are awesome ( :
Anyway, I started playing guitar 3 days ago, and i have some questions.

1) What can I expect to be playing in 12 months? Because my ultimate goal is to play Rise by Disturbed, but I know that it is very difficult.

2) How do I practice?
Im splitting my time between learning simple tunes (Intro for Wake me up when september ends, intro for Californication, short bits of ironman, and things like that) and learning the Chords. After 3 days, I can know do a few simple, nice sounding riffs and can switch between the C, D and G chords fairly quickly. I can also do the A and E chords but I cant switch quickly, and I am still having trouble with F. The problem is, I dont know where to go on from here. Should i keep doing what im doing, or am I learning completely wrong?

3) How long does it take for your fingers to get used to holding down the strings?
Because once my fingers get used to the guitar I currently have (Kinda old, a bit small, nylon strings) i'm going to move on to a steel-string acoustic. If i play an average of atleast an hour a day (A lot more on weekends) would I be waiting weeks or months before im ready foir steel strings?

Thanks in advance.
keep working on your basic chords and some picking...work on strumming evenly and different strumming patterns. I would build up stamina so you can play a full song with chords and not be in terrible pain. Last once you get the open chords work on some bar chords and power chords.
Your hand will adjust quickly if you keep workin on. Steel strings a lot harder but maybe first time you can only play 30 seconds of a song not in pain, then next time a little more, and so on
'I love her, but I love to fish...I'm gonna miss her"

1) What can I expect to be playing in 12 months? Because my ultimate goal is to play Rise by Disturbed, but I know that it is very difficult.