Hello guys,

Problem: I live in a condo with the complex manager as neightbour (its an annoying guy that fines) so can't play loud but I still want to have decent tone at 1 AM LOL

I am considering getting the Vox VT30, it sounded decent at low volumes and it has that Power Level Control in the back for better sounding at low volumes. Looking for that JCM 800 sound

Background:
Gear: Currently I own a Gibson Les Paul Studio and a Roland Micro Cube.
I am looking for a better amp to play at home.
I tried a bunch Peavey XXX, Marshall DSL 401, Marshall MG30, Vox VT30, and some Messa dont remember.
I like the JCM 800 sound.
I am a beginner guitar player, finally able to play power chords smoothly :P and some basic solos.
Favorite Band: GNR

Results:
Peavey XXX used combo (600): nice sounding, could get close to marshall sound out of this one but it might be to loud
Marshall DSL 401 (400): decent Marshall sound at low volumes, but to much Buzz/Hum I think its defective. A bit muddy at low volumes.
Marshall MG30: Well marshall sound but muddy (I hate muddy sounds)
Vox VT30: Sounded decent not muddy at all I hate that it does not have mp3/line in.
Messa boogie: Well not good sounding at low volumes so not worth the $
ValveKing: not marshally sounding.
Line 6 Spider III: Muddy sounding its marshall sound worst than the MG, and that is saying much.

I will buy a gig amp in the future when I am able to gig and have some one to gig with

Have any of you tried the Vox at home using the Power Level control and can give opinions?

What do you guys recommend for low volumes?

I have headphones they sound muddy on power chords, I even tried 250 dlls ones and were no good.

Suggestions comments welcomed

anyone tried the Peavey vypyr valve 60 at low volumes?

Thanks
DrEvil
Last edited by DrEvil at Feb 2, 2009,
i have the VOX valvetronix half stack
and i have to say get it dude...
you won't regret it
for the money, the thing sounds amazing!