Hi guys! First post

I started playing bass a month and a half a go (bought myself a crappy 'Bismark' starter kit; bass, bag, amp, tuner, etc. for £100), and I'm loving it! I haven't had any experience in playing music other than playing trumpet a little when I was younger and faking it on Guitar Hero I'm utterly addicted, and practice for hours every day

Anyway, when I play at a half to maximum volume (with maximum volume on my bass) the sound sounds farty, if you know what I mean. At lower volumes its fine. I don't think its the amp though (maybe sucky pickups?), because if I have my bass volume low and my amp volume high, the sound is okay. I also hooked up my ipod and put it on max volume and all the low tones were clear. But I'm not sure so I'm asking you guys.

I'm considering buying a new bass anyway, a decent one for £200ish. Do you think I should wait until I get better or should I go for it? If I get a good bass now I won't need to worry later on I suppose.

Thanks guys!
Max
It sounds like you are overloading the input stages of your amp. If so then turning the bass down and the amp up is exactly right. Good amps have low and high sensitivity inputs to look after this problem.

A good bass will not only improve your sound but be more rewarding to play. Unless you are gigging get the best guitar you can find/afford and worry about amps later.

keep on enjoying !
Thanks for the info, Phil!

Okay, I would like to buy an Epiphone bass, because I love the look of them and from what I've read they sound good too. I really like the look of the EB-3; what are your guys opinions? Anyone have any experiences with one? I'm going to go to a shop with a friend who's starting to play guitar (sucky beginner band FTW ) to try it and other basses out, but I'd like to know what you guys think.

Thanks!
don't buy epiphone