Alrighty. I have a Vox AD30VT right now, which I bought to kinda ease me into valve amps.

I've had it for just over a year and feel that I'd like to advance into valves. Well, full valves.

Now some information. I'd need it to be able to sound good at reasonably low levels, as I'm studying at university and don't want to be the guy from upstairs peeling cats in front of a megaphone. I'd need a bit of a kick for the odd practice with my mates, but that's less important.

I like playing anything from blues and rock to stuff like Satch and Guthrie Govan etc. I have a Vox Satchurator if that is any help in getting the higher-gain tones.

Budget. I just got £1000 from my uni, a scholarship, but I only want to spend about £400 - £500 I suppose. If there's a suggestion just over this that's fine too.

I have a Gibson Les Paul Studio, with hopes to get a higher-range Ibanez in the future if that has any bearing.

I'm completely new to this, so any help is appreciated.

Thanks!
Member of the 7-String + ERG Legion.
Maybe a Vox AC30 or AC15 would be good for you, its got a nice british blues-rock tone
Quote by Sguit
Maybe a Vox AC30 or AC15 would be good for you, its got a nice british blues-rock tone

Would this be able to do the higher gain tones I mentioned? Not like chugging metal, but smoother, like Govan.
A Laney VC15 would be nice and is only £282. It has a very good tone and your pedal will give it the gain you need. Small enough for reasonable home use but powerful enough for your practice sessions.

An Orange Tiny Terror is a very popular choice. It's similar to the Laney in many ways but probably better quality, hence the £439 price tag.

How about a Peavey JSX Mini Colossal? This is supposed to be an excellent amp, though it's only 5w and is £406.

Peavey also do the popular 'Classic 30' for £375 and that would be easily powerful enough and a great tone. There isn't much gain on it but you have your pedal for that.