Ultra-short.
59 39%
Long.
2 1%
Other... (specify)
6 4%
Voters: 151.
Page 1 of 2
Since I started playing, I've kept mine very very short to avoid any "twang" from my plucking hand. But lately I've been wondering if I should try let my nails grow a little. I played like that once and it sounded like I was playing with a plec. Doing 16ths with one finger sounded a lot better too (yes, like that Dethklok guy).

So, short or long?
Short.

Sometimes I cut it too low though, oh the pain.

Anyway short nails = less pain.

You won't have to worry about bending your fingernails or scratching chalkboards.

Short nails are also more comfortable for my guitar playing. My fingers get directly on the fret.
Quote by user_nameless
You can go ahead and sponge my bob.

/notfunnyatalljoke.

Quote by halo43
When you date a vegetarian, you're the only meat they'll ever eat.
ever since i started playing guitar i have developed OCD over keeping my hands clean and keeping my nails short.
i cant stand it anymore lol
so now they're as short as they can be without pain:P
Quote by Diet_coke_head
Hey! Now you can molest you're grandma and she won't remember! Score!!!

Gear:
Fender Aerodyne Jazz Bass
Fender V Jazz
Ashdown MAG 410
EH Bass Big MUff
MXR Bass Octave Deluxe
Digitech Synth Wah
^+1, I cut my nails as short as possible, not for bass but for comfort.
Well I play with a pick so it wouldn't really affect my right hand, but I keep mine short. I had a music teacher who would ridicule people for having short nails, and ever since short nails + playing have gone together. Also, short nails just look better.
Quote by dullsilver_mike
..Bob Barker isn't dead.

Quote by The_Casinator
Nothing is impossible if you're on acid!

Quote by Holy Katana
What if the NES breaks? WHERE IS YOUR GOD NOW?
Medium. I like my right hand's index and middle fingers to have slightly longer than short nails, for the Geddy Lee style (Back and forth with 1 finger)

I keep my left hand as short as possible without pain