I was thinking recently about my playing.

I've been playing for roughly 8 years, only seriously for the last 18 months or so.
I'm not too shabby technically, but where i lack is my theory. I don't even know the notes on the fretboard quite yet (getting there fast though).

When i've been improvising lead over the years, i've made many many mistakes as concerns notes. Playing wrong notes, playing dissonant notes against the wrong chords, not resolving against chords etc.

I've slowly eradicated this from my playing. So my question is have any of you guys started like this?

Because i personally think not knowing the notes has developed my ear for music first, and now i'm learning notes my note choice and phrasing will only get better. What you think?
Well, I play since 2.5 years and I don't know so much about theory, but I know which notes sound good together because before guitar I used to play keyboard and I have learned how to build major and minor chords.

So I think that you should learn at least minor/major scales and how to build a chord. For example, let say you have to solo over a D chord. The D chord is made by three notes: D, F# and A, and these notes will sound good over the chord. But if you try for example a G#, it will sound bad. I hope that you know at least this.
yeah i think you are right... however youll never be able to achieve certain theorical things, that you would only learn fro,m the real theory... another thing is that you wont be able to understand what other people are talking about in musical theory, since perhaphs you know that and dont know how it is called, etc...

IMO, it is important to learn a bit of Musical Theory by the book

My own example: