Hey there.

I'm thinking of leaving my guitar lessons and becoming completely self taught.

I've been taking lessons now for around 8-9 months, but at this class thing I go to, one of the teachers left, and has been replaced by some other guy who I keep getting paired up with, as his teaching style just doesnt work with me.

This is really getting on my nerves, because now it just seems like a waste of money, and he keeps trying to rush me through the work, eventhough I don't actually understand it (seriously, tonights lesson I'm supposed to "finish" the work on 7th chords and more scales that we started about a week or 2 ago, I know 2 of the chords in my head -.-)

So do I just quit my lessons? Or do I try and get a different teacher (which will be a pain in the arse because I dont want to come across as rude to the guy whos teaching me now, and he'll probably overhear my bawwing to the main guy in charge)

tl;dr BAWWWWWWW
Have a talk with him and tell him to slow down and help with the work
also if you dont like the work he gives you ask him/ tell him you want to do what YOU want as that helps you learn better as your more motivated
if you cant afford the lessons then quit or if you really dont like the lessons get another teacher who's better :P
or you could just talk to him.......

edit : self teaching is good, if you have some friends jam with them(if they play guitar or any instrument)
and uh.....i forgot ...im off for a pizza
They made me do push ups in drag

I'm gonna have a really hard time if we're both cannibals and racists.

Don't dress as a whore, he'll thump you.

I'm a firework, primed to go off
Last edited by padgea7x at Feb 3, 2009,
you could try another teacher, but then again it depends if teachers suit u or not

after all loadsa good guitarists are self taught, (people dont argue against this one) heman li is self taught!
do what feels best for you, not blowing my own trumpet but i'm self taught so play my own way.