I wanna know what you guys think of my practice schedule....

I just started playing guitar a couple of days ago.

5 mins of practice chords i know (strum each string separately and then full chord)
I know G, C, D, A, E. Add one chord every two days (next is F).

------

2 mins (each) of chord transitions of every combination of ones i know. for example right now, back and forth, i.e. G to C is G, C, G, C, G, C; ect until time runs out.

G to C, G to D, G to A, G to E, C to D, C to A, C to E, D to A, D to E, A to E.

Also I will add in F in two days every possible way it can, i.e. F to G, F to C, F to D, F to A, F to E.

-----

5 mins of chromatic scale forwards and backwards, alternative picking to a metronome which for every time I play it fully, forwards and backwards move up 5 bpm, every flub move it down 2 bpm. )

(What I am calling chromatic scale
---------------------------------------------------1-2-3-4
-----------------------------------------1-2-3-4----------
-------------------------------1-2-3-4--------------------
---------------------1-2-3-4------------------------------
-----------1-2-3-4----------------------------------------
-1-2-3-4--------------------------------------------------)

Every week add a new scale and play it for 5 minutes doing same method. (Next week I add minor pentatonic.)

------

Spend remaining time working on playing songs I like, Iron Man by Black Sabbath, Master's Apprentice by Opeth, ect)

-------

Any advice or throughts would be appreciated, thank you.
TL;DR = Go back and read please.
Last edited by zaduma at Feb 3, 2009,
When you say regiment it makes you sound as if you're in a marching band.
Gear;
- B.C. Rich Warbeast Bloodbound
- B.C. Rich NT Zombie 5-String Bass
- BOSS GT-10 Multi Effects TANK!
...In other words, I'm taking a giant dump on fender owners who use pods.
you started a few days ago and you're playing Opeth? nice.

also I think thats a nice schedule, I should make a schedule as well XD
Quote by Demonikk