Hi everyone, I am getting a guitar off line and I'm new to playing. I was looking at guitars in a shop in state college Rainbow music and the guy pointed me towards the Alvarez RC-20SC. I was reading and doing some looking around online and saw the Ibanez AES20E. How does it stack up against the Alvarez? Is it steal or nylon stringed? Which one do you recommend? And should I pay 20bucks for 1/2 hr lessons or get some self teaching program?
Ibanez acoustics have a bad rep. The Alvarez is probably better. I love Alvarez guitars, they feel and sound amazing.

As far as lessons, coming from someone who is self taught: get lessons. The structure will make you better faster.
I'm not a fan of facts. You see, the facts can change, but my opinion will never change, no matter what the facts are. - Stephen Colbert

The Alvarez would be a nylon
The Ibanez is a steel stringed guitar.

http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Alvarez-RD20SC-Regent-Series-Dreadnought-AcousticElectric-Cutaway?sku=518729
this one would be the steel string equivalent.

I would definitely recommend the Alvarez over the Ibanez. i have yet to play a poorly built alvarez. I cannot say the same about ibanez though.
Equipment:
- Art & Lutherie Cedar CW (SOLD! )
- Martin D-16RGT w/ LR Baggs M1 Active Soundhole Pickup
- Seagull 25th Anniversary Flame Maple w/ LR Baggs Micro EQ

Have an acoustic guitar? Don't let your guitar dry out! Click here.
Ok kol, I'm going to try to buy it Friday. What should I buy with it? As far as accessories go
You mentioned that you are new to playing guitar, so I just wanted to make sure that you understand what you are looking at...

Are you wanting a classical (nylon strings) guitar?
I'd vote for Alvarez.

Take a look a some of the tabs on site and see if you can figure out how to read them. ...
If you can you may avoid needing lessons, but it will really depend on what kind of natural ear and abiltiy you have. Some people need lessons to get started some don't.