I can't seem to write any good lyrics anymore or make any good riffs/licks. I have plenty of inspiration, but nothing comes. and my solos all sound alike. I'm not very good at soloing, and I don't know how to improve. I've been looking at theory, but I don't really understand it. and I don't know where to start! and getting lessons would be expensive. what do I do?
My gear:
1969 Gibson SG
Mesa Boogie Triple Rectifier Full Stack
Dunlop Cry Baby
Digitech TL-2 Hardwire Metal Distortion
Digitech Digital Delay
Start listening to different types of music to inspire you in some way. This should help you get out of the rut of not being able to play anything different to what you are used to. Then click on columns link at the top of this page and in the search box type 'the crusades'...
This happened to me so i listened to different things i listened to the blue for it.. But it can be different
Learn theory, it will help you udnerstand why 1 thing sounds most of the time better then something else, and could help with getting ur music out of ur head.

Music theory is like a language.

And well you know, if you can't speak English, even if you have good ideas, you are unable to say em.

The "Re-incarnation of Plato" Award 2009
(most intelligent)
The "Good Samaritan" Award 2009 (most helpful)

[font="Palatino Linotype
Who's Andy Timmons??
I read somewhere that most music teachers tell you to learn where every note on the fretboard is. does this really help? I've learned where all of the A's are today. and I will definately start listening to different music. I guess I'll download some country, blues, and electronica.
My gear:
1969 Gibson SG
Dunlop Cry Baby
Digitech Digital Delay
It is a good idea to know where the notes are on the fretboard. Basically it will help when you learn scales and learn the way notes work together i.e intervals.