Hey guys, i'm interested in buying a guitar. I'm a complete beginner, so I plan on learning how to play once I get one. One thing though, I cant decide if I should either get an electric guitar or bass guitar. Both seem really fun, if I get a bass I want to try learning slap bass, and if I get a guitar i want to be able to play ska guitar and play along to some of my favorite songs. I just can't decide, what do you guys think is better for a beginner like me? Thanks a lot.
go with bass. there are wayyy too many guitarist already. beside you being a bassist have a lot better chance joining a band.
up to you, which do you mainly prefer (i know both do both) melody or rhythm?

EDIT: YES DEFINITELY ^ need more bassist who play pure bass not just **** guitarists who have no other way of playing in a band, although i do play guitar haha, but i'm gonna learn bass at some point
Last edited by wooftang999 at Feb 4, 2009,
It's completely up to you man.

The shorter scale of a guitar might make it easier, although bass lines are often not as difficult as guitar (just a generalisation).

You could always switch further down the line - I've been playing electric for a while and recently started bass too and it wasn't a massive leap.
When i wanted to start playing rock instruments, i wanted to learn the bass guitar. however, my aunt who is a musician, said i should start with acoustic guitar.
I would say that for someone commited to playing music the rest of their life, that the guitar has more far reaching implications into music theory and understanding. not saying that the bass isnt stilll using theory, but if you can play guitar, you can at least fake it on bass.