Hi guys,

I started playing guitar during the end of October last year, I like it a lot and I definitely want to keep going.
However I need feedback on what I'm doing, because lately I feel like I've wasted a lot of time of nothing.
I started off trying chords for a few weeks, but I never managed to get anywhere with it. I couldn't even play a song even after practicing chord changes and knowing all the basic chords.

So, since I want to play solo anyhow, I tried combining the two.
However, after trying some songs, Number of the Beast, The Trooper, Paranoid, Demolition Boys, Man On The Silver Mountain, and generally failing miserably.
Ok, I managed to pry the Silver Mountain riff into my brain and I can play it perfectly now, but it's not much IMO.
So after that I just gave up trying songs and basically just started playing stuff that I made up as I was playing. I was definatly improving on this field, and I kept combining bends, vibrato, hammer on's/pull off's and tremolo picking with faster playing.
However, I tried Paranoid again 2 days ago, back then I dropped it after trying the intro because my guitar isn't really suited for playing beyond the 12th fret, but I kept going now and had the intro + riff down in about 15 minutes but I'm still pretty damn sloppy.

Do you guys think this "jamming" is a good idea? I like it a lot and I am defininetly improving on that field, but I fear that it doesn't really have any use in improving my playing generally.
So what should I do? Just play songs or keep jamming?
Not really, not this early on. You're still training your ears learning the basics as far as technique goes, if you just "jam" then you're just arsing around and you have no idea if things are right or how they're supposed to sound.