Hi!

Excuse my ignorance, but today I ran into this piece of new about the Jay Turser ATAK Series Guitars...for the truly interested:

http://misc-electric-guitar.jay-turser.en.audiofanzine.com/news/index,idproduit,141550,mao,namm_jay_turser_atak_series_guitars.html

Anyway, this guy Jay Turser says that his guitars are made for shredding and riffing.

So this made me wonder...what specific guitar features facilitate shredding or riffing? Other than they just look bad ass...I'm just a beginner, still learning my chords...have yet to shredd by any means...but would like to hear from others.
Well I don't know about the Jay Turser guitars but a lot of so called 'shred' guitars have insanely low action, thin necks etc. But it's all preference, for e.g. Malmsteen uses a Fender Strat with scalloped frets to shred and I don't think he has ridiculously low action or a very thin neck, Buckethead uses a Les Paul (its customised though). You pick up a guitar and check it's playability, sound etc and if you like it and you find it comfortable for shred or blues or whatever, you buy it. When I played my friends Ibanez which had extremely low action and a really thin neck, the low action was great for leads but i didn't like the neck (neither did he).
Aliadiere - sadly has more syllables than goals this season."
Setanta commentator during Newcastle-Middlesbrough. .
materials the guitar is made of to get that heavy metal tone as well as the pickups are probably higher output (hotter). shredders probably would go for a lower action but factory actions usually blow so idk cuz i dont have ne experience with shredding or jay turser.