Hi, I'm relatively new to Musical Theory. I can read sheet music up until the 3rd fret on a guitar. In order to progress I need to know how to read music for frets higher. How would I read sheet music for say...frets after 12. Thank You.
Gear:
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Peavey Vypyr 75w
Yamaha FG730S
Peavey Predator
1961 Acoustic Kay
Classical Rhapsody
Zakk Wylde Crybaby Wah Pedal
Boss SD-1
At the 12th fret it starts over at what ever that string is tuned to. The 12th fret and below are the same notes, just an octave higher if I'm not mistaken.
Maximum volume yields maximum goats.
Yeah, once you get to the 12th fret, the notes start all over again. Just remember, there are only a total of twelve notes on the fretboard, and you can play all these notes on every string, then when you are on the 12th fret, you're back to the note you started on, just an octave higher. Like the Quinlan said.
Last edited by tele432 at Feb 5, 2009,
Ok, but how do I know when to play those notes above twelve if I'm reading sheet music, is there some sort of sign or something? And what about notes after the third fret, but before the twelfth. Thank You.
Gear:
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Peavey Vypyr 75w
Yamaha FG730S
Peavey Predator
1961 Acoustic Kay
Classical Rhapsody
Boss SD-1
Quote by Zappanator
Ok, but how do I know when to play those notes above twelve if I'm reading sheet music, is there some sort of sign or something? And what about notes after the third fret, but before the twelfth. Thank You.

I don't understand what you're having trouble with. Learn the notes on the fretboard, and learn what positions on the staff they correspond to. Just like every other instrument.
Someones knowledge of guitar companies spelling determines what amps you can own. Really smart people can own things like Framus because they sound like they might be spelled with a "y" but they aren't.