Poll: Which is the better amp?
Poll Options
View poll results: Which is the better amp?
Mesa boogie DC-5
6 27%
Mesa Boogie F-50
16 73%
Voters: 22.
so i've decided on a mesa for a new amp, and have narrowed it down to 2, because of my budget.

The DC-5 and the F-50 and was hoping that the ug community could help me pick.

I play everything in the rock spectrum, everything from lifehouse to slipknot.

so i ask you, which is the overall better amp?
No experience with the DC-5, but I like the F-50. It has a 'darker' rock sound, which tends to be a bit modern for my taste. But if you're into metal and alternative rock, its a solid play for the money.
Suhr Custom, Flaxwood Rautia or Grosh Tele thru
HBE Medicine Bawl Wah
Analogman BiComp
Texas Two Step OD
Fulltone Ultimate Octave/Fuzz
Boss CE-2
TC Nova Delay
SLO-100, 65 London or Bogner Shiva
Ask me about any of this stuff!
Arent those the same amp just different names????
i have no experience with mesas so feel free to correct me.
PSN USERNAME: MetuulGuitarist7
STEAM:MetuulGuitarist7
Origin:MetuulGuitarist7
feel free to add me
The DC series is like a happy medium between the F series and Mark series. Basically F series with a GEQ if I recall.
Then there's this band called Slice The Cake...

Bunch of faggots putting random riffs together and calling it "progressive" deathcore.
Stupid name.
Probably picked "for teh lulz"

Mod in UG's Official Gain Whores
They are very similar. And I would agree about the darkness of the F-50 sound (as an owner, I should know). I quite like mine. The "contour" option can really tear the house down.
Quote by handlerb
No experience with the DC-5, but I like the F-50. It has a 'darker' rock sound, which tends to be a bit modern for my taste. But if you're into metal and alternative rock, its a solid play for the money.

if it sounds modern then that should be good, most of what i play is modern stuff.

Although can anyone tell me if the clean is any good?