Ok, I'm being completely serious when I ask this:

What exactly is an amp head?

For example, what purpose do they serve, why they're important, what do they do, etc.

I've been playing guitar for a few years now but I never fully understood the purpose of an amp head, so any help is appreciated, I REALLY want to know. Thanks in advance.
*Puts on flamesuit*
when you look at a half stack. the amp head is the top part.
the amp head is basically the whole amp and your sound although speakers take a role too.(cabs, the bottom part of a stack) Amp heads control your volume gain EQ reverb if it has some and presence( or whatever a company names that knob)
Oh I think I get it now, you would put the amp head on a half stack or an amp that doesn't already have eq settings and such? Most amps already have those settings on them, but the ones that don't need a head?
Quote by Roast Beef
Just try plugging straight into the speaker cabinet, you'll work it out

hahahaha do that
LMAO

but on a serious not yes. the ones that you said have a cab are called combo amps. all in one basically. half stack 2 different pieces.
an amp head is basically a combo with more wattage and no speakers.
My Gear:
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
Peavey Vypyr 30
DW Collector's 3 pc drums
Mapex Black panther snare
Sabian AAX/Zildjian K cymbals.