I have a question - I'm trying to get things right from the start.

I read (somewhere) about making sure that the fingers meet the fretboard at right angles. Now that seems to work well for chords, plus, I'm a pianist, so it feels right and intuitive to me.

But, I was watching Freepower's video on muting unwanted strings (you mean I need to do that???) and also another lesson here where you bar the upper strings while hammering something a little higher up, then that barring finger is magically in the right place for the next note on a different string. Now if I hadn't seen that video, I would have tackled it with my index finger fretting the string as normal, then moving string for the next note. Is this a technique that's used a lot?

So what I'm picking up is that a lot of the time, the index finger is nowhere near right angles to the fretboard. It's more like parallel. And then it needs to turn a little to bar on its boney side, which opens up the hand in a really strange way. Am I getting this right?
To be honest I don't think too many people do actually have their fingers at right angles though I may be wrong. From what you described it sounds as though you're doing everything right so far, but I'm confused by this bit:
bar the upper strings while hammering something a little higher up, then that barring finger is magically in the right place for the next note on a different string
You shouldn't pay that much attention to your finger placement, pay lot's of attention on what kind of sound you're getting from your technique and then try to get comfortable with your fingers so that they produce the right tone ant articulation you want to hear. There's really no "right" finger placement, just a lot of options with their own qualities.