Hey guys,

So I want to get something new to get me even more excited about playing as well as sounding better.

I started with a pretty cheap acoustic and played that for about a year improving rapidly. After that I bought my friend's Ibanez G10 GAX (not really sure what the real name is) as well as his Fender Frontman 15G amp (small little guy with just distortion and no effects really). I've been playing the electric for about 6 months now (so about a year and a half total). I practice pretty much every day for a couple hours at least, and I mostly play metal and some blues and funk as well.

So would a new amp be best, with actual effects and better distortion? Or do you think I would benefit more from a new guitar? If so what kind of guitar would be good? I wouldn't want a "metal" guitar.. maybe something pretty versatile but with a good distortion sound. My friend also suggested getting a distortion pedal because the distortion on my amp isn't the greatest.

Or am I just getting impatient and should just practice more until I REALLY know what I want?

Any tips you more experienced guys can give me would be great!

Thanks!
Budget?
Aliadiere - sadly has more syllables than goals this season."
Setanta commentator during Newcastle-Middlesbrough. .
Without a shadow of a doubt, get rid of the amp and get something better!! The Frontman is one of the worst amps I've ever heard and changing it will improve your tone dramatically. Given your situation I'd suggest some sort of modeling amp. What budget do you have?
Gibson Les Paul Studio with Catswhiskers pickups
PRS SE 'Floyd' Custom 24 with Creamery pickups
Fender Standard Stratocaster with DiMarzio pickups
Takamine GN30
BluGuitar AMP1
I agree with the amp first. I used to play on an Ibanez 10W practice. I picked up a Digitech GNX4 and a new guitar both before a new amp, and now realize how ridiculously out of order that all was. You can sound amazing with a cheap guitar and a good amp, but not the other way around.