Hi,

I'm looking at my upcoming birthday, talked to the folks abit about what I wanted to get, and they offered me €300 to spend on my guitar setup. I've got a Fender Strat (further details unknown, got it off a coworker of my dad's who hadn't used it in ages) and a Fender Super Champ XD amp to go with it (recently bought so I doubt I'd replace it). Looks like the guitar is fully factory-default, no customizations or anything.

Since I got it in a rather neglected state, I was thinking about giving the guitar some sort of treatment, you know, have it (since I'm not very technical myself) checked up, cleaned out, etc. Also I was thinking about getting a new set of pickups, since I'm not entirely happy about the current sound of my guitar. Like something from this list. I don't know if those pickups differ much from standard strat ones, and for that matter I don't even know what standard strat ones are..

Would either of the above be something worth doing? Or any other suggestions?
Last edited by Azunaii at Feb 7, 2009,
A complete set-up and beauty treatment (clean-up) are absolutely always worth it ... the upgrades should come later. Go with a nice, inexpensive tube/valve amp first. This way, you can explore some of the real potential of your Strat.

The Super Champ is actually a tube amp, though I'm not sure if with all the different voicings it has it's really called a full amp or some other term I'm not familiar with heh.

But thanks for the suggestion! I'm thinking of going over to the store, explaining how I got the strat and that I've no idea what it's current state is. And then ask if they can give it a treatment

Any of you able to assess what model it is by just looking at it, by any chance? :
Pic of the headstock?
1987 Ibanez Jem 777LNG #124
2012 Herc Fede PMC Jem
1987 Ibanez RG550 Road Flare Red-R
Marshall JCM-1 W/Lead 12 Cab.
Wampler, Ibanez, MXR, Morley Pedals
The Model is Stratocaster

Does it have a serial number?
Phrases Label
The Bohemes
---