Page 1 of 2
... is killing me, in a way that it's getting harder and harder to make choices that shouldn't be hard. I'm on an aerospace engineering master degree, first year. I'm liking it, lots of work, but I have the discipline to keep the thing going pretty well, cool people, etc etc. Now I have this completely different thing I want to achieve: play music for lots of people. It's a dream, just like any other.

I started playing in 1999 when I was 9. Funnily enough, I never worried about my future. When I was 16, those things started to change. I chose engineering because I had my feet on the ground. Problem is there's this voice in the back saying that this is not what I REALLY wanted to do. I'm an ambitious person, I like challenges and playing music is/was one good enough for me.

BUT, the challenge I can't stand is defining my priorities between the engineering guy in me that wants to know how things work and loves airplanes and stuff like that, and the other one that is creative and likes to be listenable. I need to be good to be a great engineering in order to have success. And that takes work and time, 2 things that I can't really accept because I feel I'm leaving the music behind.

I don't know how to face this, but I'd like to hear you. And, for some reason, after writing all this, I feel like I can follow my dream and be good at engineering. But still don't really know how.
you can do both. solidify engineering. Because music takes money and making a living in musi cis next to impossible. But once you have a good stable job, home. make some friends. Make a band, play the weekend bars. who knows whatll happen.
"You know it's funny when it rains it pours
...They got money for wars, but can't feed the poor"

Techno artist and rap producer in training

Do both

Keep at the course, but maybe start a band, or write and record your own songs, put them up on UG or myspace or Purevolume for people to hear.

Doing both is easier than it seems, trust me =]